1. {Name}
    Welcome to the KKF!
    Please take a moment to register and stop by the New Member Check-In and say hello. We sincerely hope you enjoy your stay and the discussion of all things sharp.
    Feel free to jump right in on the conversation or make your own. We have an edge on life!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Take a look at our new AUCTION SYSTEM

This service is available to all KKFora members to both Bid on and Auction off (Sell)items.
    Dismiss Notice

There are some really good makers emerging lately.

Discussion in 'The Kitchen Knife' started by Don Nguyen, Jul 23, 2014.

1. I've been following kitchen knives for a few years now, and I noticed that there's a good number of new makers doing kitchen stuff that are putting out some really dang good stuff. Is it just me, because I'm new to the scene myself, or is it actually a legitimate case? Probably the internet with the abundant resources out there.

I've probably talked about this before somewhere, but it still is impressive.

2. It's hard to judge the amount objectively, but I think you're likely right. Lots of contributing factors, but an increase in information, and a general rise in food culture are likely culprits.

3. Absolutely Don. I loved your thread on KKF about new maker's work. These guys deserve to be recognized for their efforts and craftsmanship!

4. XooMG

XooMG Founding Member

I think the growth and accessibility of KKF via google has allowed some people getting involved in knives to find out more about kitchen stuff without depending wholly on intuition or more "traditional" knifemaker resources. The result is that makers are blossoming out of a basic understanding of kitchen knife geometry and profile, rather than simply steel and heat treat and handle ergonomics.

Of course prices keep rising too, even for less experienced and established makers.

5. Spaz

Spaz Founding Member